Blake Edgar Receives the Holy Ghost

The Sunday before this occurred, Blake, who was the last child in Sis. Darci’s Sunday School class in need of the Holy Ghost, became the subject of the prayers of his classmates. They agreed to pray extra for Blake that he would receive the Holy Ghost soon. If you don’t think their faith was increased by this news, you can think again! They are excited… and so are we!

The following is from an email received from Blake’s mom after he received the Holy Ghost during family altar on Thursday Morning! You know what they say… “Family Altar can really alter a Family.” Here’s the proof…

We were having Family altar and the story was on “The Beginning Ministry of Jesus” and how He went into a town that GLADLY received Him. The thing about this story was that John the Baptist had already been there and prepared the way of the Lord so that when Jesus came, the work that he had to accomplish was able to be done because the way had been already prepared.

So I talked to the children about how important it is for us to keep our hearts cleaned so when we pray or worship and Jesus comes by he can fill us with his Holy Ghost, meet needs, heal, etc.

Then it was time for prayer. We usually all pray together but this time I decided to let each one individually pray. I do this to make sure they ARE praying or they do understand HOW to pray.

Colleen was the first to pray. I could hear she was really getting in the Spirit of prayer so I whispered to the other two to pray quietly until she was done. We were all praying and Kayla ‘hooked on’. I have never heard a child pray in this fashion before. She sounded like an adult praying. Praying for souls, lost sheep, and then she began to commit her life to Jesus, telling Him He gave her the breath she breathed and so He can use her or even take her home to heaven — she just wanted to please Him. She began to weep under the burden of prayer and began to pray for Blake who, when I looked up, was PLAYING!! LOL

I told him to pray and continued on myself. The Holy Ghost was so strong in the room. I looked up the second time and Blake had his head on his arm fighting the tears. I put my arm around him and he began to pray. Then he stood up and raised his hands in the air and said, “Jesus, I want to be baptized in Jesus name and I cant ’til I get the Holy Ghost. Please save me.”

At first I thought, “Oh this is just a child’s way,” but he continued on praying. He then got on my knee and began to cry, “Jesus, fill me with the Holy Ghost!”

He began to speak in tongues again so I turned him to face me and the girls beside me and the Lord opened his mouth and he began to speak fluently in tongues. I said, “Girls, your brother is getting the Holy Ghost!”

Blake danced all over the living room and prayed for about two hours worshipping Jesus talking in tongues! After everyone stopped he told me he still wanted to pray and get the HOLY GHOST!! We began to sing and he started worshipping again.

All day after that he kept talking about it and told his father when he got home from work that he was going to get the Holy Ghost in devotion the next day.

When he got up yesterday, the first thing he said was, “Mom, I’m gonna get the Holy Ghost again today, ain’t I?” THANK YOU, Jesus!

It always makes a difference when we PREPARE the Way of the LORD!!!

Sis. Brenda

4 thoughts on “Blake Edgar Receives the Holy Ghost

  1. WOW I AM BLESSED TO HEAR THIS. I AM GOIN TO SHARE THIS WITH MY KIDS. PLEASE PRAY THAT IT STIRS UP AN INTEREST IN THEM. JESUS IT IS MY DESIRE TO SEE MY KIDS FILLED WITH THE HOLY GHOST.

Leave a Comment...